password generator inspired by XKCD observation...

Started by Darren Dirt, August 12, 2011, 03:54:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darren Dirt

...that after decades of cracking stories, we humans are now trained to choose hard-to-remember passwords (which often results in folks forgetting them, or writing them down somewhere nearby).

Solution: Four Random Common Words.

http://preshing.com/20110811/xkcd-password-generator

found via http://lifehacker.com/5830355/xkcd-password-generator-creates-long-easy+to+remember-passwords

Strive for progress. Not perfection.

Lazybones

Doesn't do you any good on sites that have 9 character limits on the password field or do automatic truncation..

What site would do such a bad thing? ONE OF MY BANKING SITES! Not my primary bank but another one I have an account with.

Thorin

I am not a security expert, and do not want to be responsible for ensuring anything is made secure.  The rule with security is that it takes only one weak item in the chain to make it unsecure, and I'm sure I'll make at least one mistake.

That being said, I'm interested in security and the algorithms used.  One of the things I've learned over the years is that security must be done in layers and from the server side, not relying on clients to do security right.

To fight brute force attacks, external systems should not allow hundreds of attempts per second but should instead have a sliding scale of required wait time between attempts; for instances, a delay of seconds equal to the Fibonacci sequence.  This will cause hackers to try to gain access to the servers instead of brute-forcing.

To fight unauthorized access, external and internal systems should be properly protected and separated by firewalls and should be monitored for keyloggers.