login

Author Topic: Shaw Doubles its speeds  (Read 349 times)

Offline Lazybones

  • Administrator
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 11485
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2018, 10:37:39 AM »
I suspect while Dec 03 was their release date that it will filter through accounts over the next week or two.

The announcement stated that the configs are live but the PUSH to force them will be staged.. You should be able to reboot your device today and get the speeds.

Tom you where only on 150 correct?

Online Melbosa

  • Administrator
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 10924
  • Administration... BAH!
    • http://www.righteouswrath.com
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2018, 09:44:53 PM »
Yep I gots it...
Sometimes I Think Before I Type... Sometimes!

Offline Lazybones

  • Administrator
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 11485
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2018, 10:40:40 PM »

Offline Tom

  • D&D
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 10979
  • Bound for Stars
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2018, 08:58:30 AM »
I suspect while Dec 03 was their release date that it will filter through accounts over the next week or two.

The announcement stated that the configs are live but the PUSH to force them will be staged.. You should be able to reboot your device today and get the speeds.

Tom you where only on 150 correct?
Yup. Usually got 170~ though.
<Zapata Prime> I smell Stanley... And he smells good!!!

Offline Mr. Analog

  • Moderator
  • Universal Constant
  • *
  • Posts: 26847
  • Fighter of the Nightman - Champion of the Sun
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2018, 09:00:16 AM »
I suspect while Dec 03 was their release date that it will filter through accounts over the next week or two.

The announcement stated that the configs are live but the PUSH to force them will be staged.. You should be able to reboot your device today and get the speeds.

Tom you where only on 150 correct?
Yup. Usually got 170~ though.

I was clocking 300 down yesterday after power cycling my router too
By Grabthar's Hammer

Online Thorin

  • Forum Moderators
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 11869
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2018, 12:26:54 AM »


I'd gladly give up 100Mbps down to get 35Mbps more down.  Still, nice to get a big down speed bump.
Prayin' for a 20!

gcc thorin.c -pedantic -o Thorin
compile successful

Offline Lazybones

  • Administrator
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 11485
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #21 on: December 06, 2018, 02:04:25 PM »
I am currently on lightspeed and this week I have been trying to get a price match from Telus on Purefibre for the Shaw offers.

The order has been made, I will post my speed results on or after the 14th. Competition is a good thing!

Offline Darren Dirt

  • Forum Moderators
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 13232
  • Clean your room. Tell the truth. And listen.
    • Laugh!
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2018, 02:05:29 PM »
I just independently discovered this for myself on the weekend.

My 12 months of discounted "75" was coming up to expire at $60+GST monthly, so I requested a chat with the "Loyalty Team" and they gave me the "150" for $65+GST ... and a week after that is when The Great Doubling happened.

Strangely, on my laptop I am getting really low speeds right now, like under 20 ... but might be my wireless NIC or something :(
But on my relatively new Samsung, it was well over 140, and my brother said on his phone right by the [new!] router he was hitting >300.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2018, 02:10:49 PM by Darren Dirt »
_____________________

Get better at getting better. Daily.
_____________________

Offline Lazybones

  • Administrator
  • Royality
  • *******
  • Posts: 11485
Re: Shaw Doubles its speeds
« Reply #23 on: December 10, 2018, 02:43:31 PM »
I was going to post another thread on PureFibre but it looks like Shaw and Telus are going to war, a 750/750 https://www.telus.com/en/deals-and-bundles/internet-750 plan has appeared and apparently theyre is a special 950/750 plan also available ofr PureFibre.

More speed than any normal home user should need right now but who says we are normal. :)